2015 Semana Nautica Award Winners

The Semana Nautica Association is pleased to announce the award winners from this summer’s festival. Taylor Steffen, Karen Schultz, Stuart Sato and Curly Guillen will all be recognized on Thursday, August 27 at East Beach Grill.

Taylor Steffen and Karen Schultz earned the distinction as Male and Female Ocean Swimmers of the Year. Curly Guillen, a two-time winner of the Semana Nautica 4th of July 15k, is our Athlete of the Year for running the fastest race in 25 years. Stuart Sato, a longtime Semana Nautica participant, has been named the recipient of the Jeff Farrell Award for his embodiment of the festival’s spirit.

The Award Ceremony will happen at approximately 8 p.m. during Reef & Run’s Post-Race Party following its season-ending Boat to Beach Swim.

Steffen and Schultz were the dominant swimmers of the festival. Steffen won all five ocean-swimming races that he entered while Schultz won four of six and placed second in another.

Guillen ran the fastest time at the Semana Nautica 15k in 25 years. Guillen, who is in the middle of training for October’s Chicago Marathon and the U.S. Olympic Trials in February, finished in 47 minutes and 50 seconds.

Sato has spent decades as a part of Semana Nautica, either participating or supporting the Festival. His favorite events to do are the 1, 3, 6 mile swims, the Biathlon, and the 15k run. If he is not participating in the event, then he is volunteering his time to these events to help make sure they run smoothly.